Concussion Creates Musical Genius

Now this story is just crazy. Derek Amato decided to have a quick swim and ended diving into the shallow end of the pool, what he didn’t expect was that he would emerge a musical genius. Doctors told him that he would lose39% of his hearing over time, as well as his memory. The little fact they forgot to tell him was that he would become a musical savant in the process. From the guardian:-

It’s as if my knock on the head unlocked something latent, or enabled me to use some part of my brain I simply couldn’t access before. But I still can’t read or write music conventionally, and have to rely on special software to translate what I play into scores. I’ve played alongside a classically trained concert pianist, who was fascinated by my technique – in some respects, I play like someone who has just started learning, in others my skills outstripped his. It can be exhausting, though. The music often keeps me up at night, and I’ll sometimes wake my girlfriend by “playing” her arm in my sleep.

Right so who’s got a bit of 2 by 4 to give me a good wallop?

Via Neatorama

Leave a comment

Filed under funny, lifestyle, Music, News

Leave a Reply

