The Bollywood Trip

On Monday night I went to the SouthBank Centre to watch ‘The Bollywood Trip’ which has apparently just arrived from Denmark amidst a flurry of 5* reviews. I can’t say i’m overly knowledgeable about Bollywood but I know what I like and I like the craziness and energy that can be found in many a Bollywood film. Therefore this easily convinced me to give this a go on a dark and miserable Monday evening…

The story follows a young man who is incarcerated in a Danish mental institute whilst the authorities try to ascertain exactly who he is. He claims to be a Bollywood star called Haroon and after a few days at the institute starts to make the patients more excitable. If I was to sum it up in one sentence it would have to be the description used in their literature of ‘One flew over the cuckoo’s nest meets indian dance’. Haroon’s effect on the patients is matched only by his effect on one of the doctor’s whom he attempts to assist in his attempts to woo the girl of his dreams. Overall i quite enjoyed it somehow expected more overall. Maybe I was hoping the dance scenes to be a bit more crazy, colourful and larger than life. Maybe i was hoping the play part would be a little more humourous. I’m not sure but either way it didn’t quite deliver for me.

After a little internet research there is a famous British Pakistani singer called Haroon who has sold millions of albums worldwide. I’m sure i’m only displaying my ignorance but perhaps the character of Haroon is based on him?? My lack of knowledge will prove my downfall some day…

6.5/10

Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!

On a small side note – and just while i’m on the subject of Bollywood – I thought I may as well share my favourite film (although as i said earlier my knowledge is far from complete) which is Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye! which i caught earlier this year. It’s a lighthearted look at the trials and tribulations of a lovable thief called Lucky and is based on the real life exploits of Devinder Singh who was, by all accounts, the bane of the Delhi police until his capture in 2007. Give it a watch!

8/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Dance, London, Music, review, Theatre

Leave a Reply

